As a girl that reads novels a lot, especially love novels, you can imagine how difficult it would be to deal with what reality really has to present. I mean, in the novels, we see a lady whose  life has had no romances, and her world changes when this guy comes into it. He is either tall, dark and handsome, or just there, with a very good personality. He does not even have to have a good personality. Sometimes, he just needs to be sure of himself, charming, and rich as f*ck. If the lady is one who is educated and sure if herself, the man is the one who breaks her defences. I’m not saying I don’t like these novels. In fact, I’m going to be frank here. They are the kind of novels I do read mostly. 
Now, back to the topic. Facing reality. I’m not talking about the reality on my self. I’m talking about what we see everyday. I check instagram and I see pictures of lovers looking happy and I can’t help but wonder, does it really happen to some people like that? Really, does it? 

And then I also wonder about some other aspects of life that we rarely see in writing. I see labourers, and I’m not talking about those hot labourers that are tan, has six pack, and just manage life the way it is, but how about the labourers? I mean, the hungry ones. How do they really live their lives? Do they also experience love? Women, already blinded with what are in the novels, how do we even envision our future partners?  Those labourers, if they even get lucky and have a wife, the wife  leaves them. They cant take proper care of themselves. Is it a wife and kids they want to take care of? I wonder, are those the ones who remain bachelors forever? Or maybe its just the way I see it in Nigeria. It’s probably not like that else where. I’ll love to know really. 

Then there are the uneducated women. The ones who sell food and stuff for a living. Do they also have love stories?  Are their lives changed drastically by a man who comes to buy something and noticed what a beauty they are and begin to chase them? That’s not it. Those women are hardened. They are hardened by the brutality of man. They are hardened by the way life has treated them. In fact, they have lost hope. I don’t know if it’s like this in other countries, but I think about it. These women are those who get pregnant by men who don’t give a sh*t about them. But then, what can they do? Their parents are the ones who cast them to the street to fend for themselves. 

And then, I do understand. No one really want to face the harsh reality life has to present. We want to smother ourselves with what would make us happy. We want to read happy endings, but happy endings,  really? Is there any such thing as happy ending? I can’t help but wonder. 

I think of the disables. The ones who do not belief there is any hope for them. Do they also have love stories? Sometimes I also want to read about them. I don’t want to read something dramatic. Something that I know would not really happen. I guess that’s why I hold Jojo Moyes in high esteem. It was her book, Me Before You, that spurred me into getting more of her works. Of course I don’t like the way it ended, I’ll have loved it to end in a rosy way, but then I appreciate the fact that what she wrote seemed so real. It seemed like something that would really happen. By the way, if you haven’t read it, you should. 

And if any of you reading this has had one experience or the other being in love, or you are able to relate with all I’ve written down here,  I’ll really like for you to tell me about it. You can stay anonymous if you want. You can send your stories to femiiesther@gmail.com,or post it on the comment section if you want. If you have stories you want to be featured on my blog, you can send it to my email.

#reality #lovelife #realromances 

