Alice wore a t shirt and a jean trouser and walked  out if the house. As she was about leaving, her mom stopped her. 

“Are you going already?”

“Yeah.”

“Has he told you anything? “

Alice swallowed. “No. Said when he got there.”

Her mum, Grace moved towards her and put her face in her hands. 

“It’s going to be fine okay? I’m worried about you. Don’t stress yourself too much.”

Alice nodded and she forced out a smile for her mum. She knew all her mum had in mind was her best interest. 

“Okay ma.”

She begun the journey to the little forest and wondered why Taylor had called her. Since the past month, he had been behaving very strangely, and that was after he had come back from a journey of two weeks to meet his father. He was never quite open with her anymore, his actions seemed a little strange and forced, and Alice didn’t want to think about what her heart already knew.

After about ten minutes of walking, she got to the place. She looked at the giant stone, and caressed it’s body. The stone held so many memories for her and Taylor. 

All good ones. 

Here, they had shared a lot of things together. 

It was the place he confessed his love for her. 

It was the place they met when they were going to settle any fight. 

It was the place they told each other secrets that no one except themselves knew. 

It was the place that had their first kisses. 

She sat beside the rock, her long hair covering the sides of her face, and looked up to the sky. 


Taylor arrived at their place, more tensed than he had ever being. He looked around for her and he saw her limp figure lying beside the boulder. As he moved closer, she must have heard his foot steps because she sat up and looked at him. 

He looked back and her and walked the few feet remaining that were seperating them from each other. 

He watched her as she searched his face, trying to have an hint to why he had suggested they met here. He knew that she had noticed the strange behaviours he had been exhibiting for a month now and that everything was to prepare her for now. 

His leaving. 

His heart tightened at the hurt and betrayal he knew he would see in her eyes and he looked away.

He saw as she moved closer to him and tentatively held his hand.

“Are you okay Tay?”

He nodded, not trusting his voice. 

“So… What’s this all about?”

He knew she was striving to sound casual, but he also knew she was scared and upset, but trying to play cool. He felt as her hand shook.

He turned towards her and stared deep into her eyes. 

“I’m leaving Alice.”

He watched her face, and  he could not decipher anything. It seemed like she was putting in a lot of work to school her features. 

Carefully, she dis entangled her hands from his and stood up. 

“What are you talking about?”

“I’m leaving, and I don’t know when I am going to some back, if I am going to come back.”

She was silent as she thought about what he said.

“This has to do with the visit you took last month right?”

“Yes.”

He watched as she swallowed. 

“You met someone new?”

He smiled a little. Some how, he knew she was going to think that. 

“No Alice. It has to do with the family business.”

“Okay. So we will keep on touch.”

He watched the hopeful expression on her face and hated to be the one that would take it away. 

“That’s what I came to talk to you about Alice. We may not be able to keep in touch…again.”

She looked confused. 

“Why do you say that?”

“Alice…I do not know if I am going to come back at all, and I don’t want to keep you waiting for me.”

He moved towards her and cradled her face in his palms. 

“You are a beautiful girl Alice. After I leave, a lot of guys would be on your tail.”

It pained him to say it, but he knew he had to tell her. 

“You might even forget me.”

He saw as her breathing became more laboured. 

She removed his hands from her cheeks. “You want to break up.”

He didn’t answer, but now stared at her. 

“I_I don’t understand Tay. So you’re going for a family business. We could do a long distance relationship.”

He shook his head. “This is more than you think it is Alice. A long distance relationship would not work, and we could just be causing heart ache for the other. I cound leave, you go on with your life, and I with mine.”

Alice swallowed tight, trying to hold the tears at bay. She did not understand what he was saying. So he had decided to break up with her just because of family business, and he was against the long distance relationship. 

She knew at was something else…She knew he hadn’t someone new, but was trying to spare her feelings. As she admitted that to herself the hurt came anew, and she felt so shaken that she had to sit down. She begun feeling light headed, and like her world was coming to an end. 

“You don’t love me.”

She turned to him and let the tears fall freely. 

“You met someone you like enough to leave me.”

She nodded. 

Taylor clenched his hands tight as he debated with himself.. He could let her think what she wanted, and end it quickly. He didn’t need to make this worse, but at the same time, he couldn’t let her feel like she was unworthy of his love. 

“I still love you Alice.”

“Then we can make this work.”

Taylor shook his head. 

“I can’t keep you waiting for me while you keep your personal life on hold.”

Alice moved towards him and held him tight.

“It can’t be so hard Taylor. Please. We can make this work. Please.”

He shook his head and moved away from her. 

“Alice. I have to go. It’s getting late.”

Alice sat back down and looked down, rejection washing over her. She wasn’t good enough. 

He loved her, but not enough to keep in touch. No. He didn’t love her.  

She hugged herself tight as she watched his departing figure.

                             **~**

 Alice sat in the front of the mirror, and reapplied her mascara. It was almost five years later, but she had not been able to get over the hurt she had felt that night. 
He had come back. The whole town was celebrating his return, but she wasn’t. He had come with a new girl on his arm, and she knew it was the reason he had insisted on breaking contact, though she couldn’t understand why he would want to see her now, after been around for two weeks, but she supposed herself wasn’t the most important thing to him. 

The girl on his arm was. 

She gripped the powder brush she was holding tight. 

He was probably trying to make things formal, since they had not met since he arrived. He was probably going to tell her about his upcoming marriage to her. She laughed bitterly. 

She hadn’t seen the girl the whole town was talking about, nor had she seen him, but she hated them both already. 

She stood up from the chair she was sitting on, and walked towards the full length mirror. 

This time, she was ready for any rejection. 

She knew she still loved him. It was why she hated him so much, but she was ready to accept it finally.

She could admit to herself that when she heard he was back, she had hoped he had come back for her, but she was wrong.

She ran her hands gently through her styled short hair. She had cut it short after he left. The long hair served too much of a reminder about him, and cutting it was what she wanted to do. 

She was wearing a simple jeans and top just like the night five years ago, but she was ready this time. She had an unusual bold make up on her face but she knew she looked good. 

He would be surprised. That was for sure, but above any other thing, she wanted him to believe she had moved on, that she didn’t give a care about what he did with his life.

She sat down for a while, and closed her eyes, trying to gain some mental strength. She knew she was going to need it. 

                                     *

By the time she got there, he was waiting on the giant stone for her.

Taylor stood up as soon as he heard her foot steps and watched her as she came. 

She looked very different. For one, her hair was cut short to her chin level. As she came closer, he noticed some other things, like the fact that she seemed to have slimmed down, but added in all the right places. 

He saved looking at face for last.

He looked up at her, surprised at the amount of make up she had on, though it fit her perfectly. 

Her expression looked…. Cold, and polite.

“Hi ”

He said, wanting to hear her voice.

“Hi. ” she replied, stiffly. 

“Can you… Come sit with me here?”

“I think I’m fine here Taylor. ”

He didn’t expect the way his heart felt when he heard his name from her mouth, especially with the sharp edge it had to it. 

“I came back.”

He knew it was stupid, as she already knew that, but he didn’t know what to say. He hadn’t been expecting to see her like this, so he had no idea how to act.

“Evidently.”

“How have you been?”

“Fine.”

It seemed like her control snapped, cause she sighed, annoyed. 

“Did you call me here for pleasantries or for some other thing? If it’s all pleasantries we can decide to meet somewhere. I don’t have all these time.”

The hostility in her voice surprised him, but he knew very well that he deserved it. He wanted to tell her a lot of things. He wanted to explain to her, but he knew that if he did not do it now, he just might not have the boldness to do it again. 

“Alice. I’m sorry.”

Alice heart felt like it was drowning. Sinking down. 

No matter how much she told herself he had come here to tell her about he and his girl, she never really accepted it, so it was hard.

“I’m sorry for everything I put you through after I left.”

She said nothing, cause her throat felt tight. 

“Just… Tell me what you came to say Taylor. There is no need to apologize for what you don’t think you need to apologize for.”

Taylor looked up at her, not understanding what she was saying. “What do you mean?”

She looked impatient. 

“Let’s cut all the politeness out. We both know you weren’t really sorry as you left me for the other girl. Did  you come here to tell me about the both of you? Cause it’s okay. I understand. Yeah. I’m moving on. Shit like this happens and there is no need to sugar coat anything.”

She stopped talking and watched as his face was tight in concentration.

“I didn’t leave you for any girl Alice.”

Alice looked up at him, not understanding. “What do you mean?”

Taylor quickly understood that she had assumed wrong, and he decided to use the loop in her knowledge to help her understand. 

He moved closer to her. 

“I wasn’t lying to you when I told you I wasn’t going for another girl. When I left, I knew there was no way I could be with another person, and different times I tried to reach out to you but I was sure that you would hate me and I wasn’t ever ready.I am now. I still love you.”

Alice felt frozen where she was standing. He wasn’t with another girl, and he still loved her. 

She looked up at him with different eyes.

“The girl that came with you?”

Alice asked shyly, the bold facade slipping fast away. 

“She’s my half sister. Wanted to follow me to see what attracted me so much to this place. It was you.”

With the kind of things that Taylor was saying, she wasn’t sure exactly what to do. Every thing was changing rapidly. She was wrong about a lot of things. 

“I_I don’t understand.”

She said slowly as she sat down. “Why are you back?”

She looked at him, her hands wanting to cradle his face, but not wanting to react too fast, for fear of what he could do. 

“Do you still love me Alice?”

He looked excited, but Alice kept quiet. 

He looked at her face, and then the light that was in his disappeared. He looked… Resigned. 

“If you don’t anymore, it’s okay. I mean, that was what I wanted for you. ”

He mocked a laugh at himself and Alice knew that he was hurting more than he let on.

She looked at his face, noticing all the different. His jaw looked stronger, and he had grown his beard and hair. 

He felt… Different. It was like someone She didn’t know, but she knew it wouldn’t take time to rekindle the connection, just that it would take time. 

She knew she loved him, and she wasn’t going to make it any harder than it was with them already.

“I… I still love you Taylor. Your leaving was hard, and sometimes I hate you for it, but I have always loved you.”

He shifted a little towards her, light filling his features. 

“Can I hold your hands?”

She nodded, happy herself. “Yes.”

They talked for hours that night, and it was only because the long day was taking its toll on the both of them and they both had to rest, that they decided to meet the next day. 

As Taylor held her hand and led her towards her house, she looked back at the boulder, the giant stone, that had once again, healed her broken heart. 

————-

Hi everyone. This is my response to the daily prompt Giant. Do you like it? Feel free to comment any thoughts you have concerning the post. 

————-

I know this was long, so I want to thank you for reading till the end. I also want to thank everyone who commented on yesterday’s post. Your concerns made me feel a lot better. Thank you. 

—————

(A quick bit about my day. Something quite annoying.)

We came back from picking my siblings from their boarding school today and while doing back my dad decided to take us to a restaurant. Now you know that sometimes these counters are quite high. 

I’m short in height, so sometimes I’m just tall enough to see what they have on board. 

I and my sister were waiting to be answered by one of these servers (or whatever they are called), when one came right in front of us, and answered a lady that came after us. I decided not to say anything and just wait till she amswered this lady when the lady was like… “They were here first. Answer them.”

The lady did something right, but it was the server or whatever they are called thay pissed me off. I know I’m short, but can you really not see me? Or would you rather pretend I wasn’t there? When you could very well see me (and my sister) ?  

It was very annoying and it’s not the first time I have been treated as irrelevant cause I’m short. 

Anyway, that’s it about that. I hope you all are having a great day. 

