Malia saw Dave coming towards where she was sitting at the restaurant and she felt the familiar squeeze in her heart. The excitement. The love, but she quelled it down, as she knew what she was about to say for him was for the benefit of both of them. 

Dave hugged her and kissed her cheeks and sat down. Last week, she had voiced her concerns relating to their relationship and she had called for them to meet to talk about it. 

“Hi.”

She smiled. “Hi to you too Dave.”

“How is work going?”

“Okay. I won’t be travelling till the end of this year and you know what relief that is to me. How about yours?”

“Mine was okay. Same boring thing.”

She smiled again. “So yeah, talk.”

He nodded. “Yeah. I’ve been looking forward to today.”

She lowered her eye lash. She had always admired his honesty, but this was not the time to say that. 

She looked up at him. “Wouod you like to go first?”

“You go first.”

She nodded. “We have been together for two years right?”

He nodded. “Yes.”

Malia sighed deeply and looked up at him. “I think we need to break up Dave.”

At first he looked startled, then confused. 

“What are you talking about Mallie?”

“Dave, you know I_I love you.”

She looked down. Dave said nothing. 

“I_I don’t think you are satisfied with me. I feel like you want me to be someone I’m not. Your wife.”

She looked up and saw that his features were tense, and knew it was because of his wife that she mentioned. Her heart tightened and she wanted to get every thing out. 

“I know we’ve been dating two years but I_I feel you still haven’t gotten over your wife, and that way we can’t make a happy relationship. “

He still did not say anything, and it made the tears that she has been suspending for so long want to fall. 

“I can’t do this Dave. I_I can’t.”

Her hands knotted together on the table and she looked down. The tears clouded her vision, and she knew there was no way he wouldn’t know now. 

She felt warm hands softly open her hands and entwine in it. She looked up at him. 

“Malia, I can’t live without you. That’s the first thing I want you to know.”

She swallowed, wanting to stop the tears but it wouldn’t stop falling. 

“I wasn’t sure you felt like this until last week, when you begun saying things, and ever since, I’ve been feeling a certain emptiness. I…”

He stopped, seeming lost for words and smiled brief at her. 

“I didnt know you felt  that way. I didn’t know it was what I was doing. I would never_”

His voice cracked on the word and he paused before he continued. 

“I would never hurt you. I would never do anything to intentionally hurt you.”

Malia looked at him.

“I’m not trying to be insensitive. I know she was your first love _”

“Second actually. ” Dave interrupted with a grin. 

Malia looked surprised for a while before she continued. 

“I know you had a very tight bond with her and I’m not saying you should act like she never existed cause that would be impossible. She was part of your life and I know that. I just don’t want to feel like_like I’m living in-in someone else’s place. I_”

Dave squeezed her hands a little. 

“How come you never told me how you felt? “

She swallowed as she struggled to maintain eye contact. 

“I didn’t want you to think I was been insensitive, or whiny, and I didn’t want you to feel like it was your fault that I felt that way. “

Dave looked distant ad he spoke. “At the expense of our relationship.”

Malia looked away. 

He turned to face her.  “I love you.”

Malia looked at him, shocked. In the two years that they had been together, he never said it. He was tender, affectionate, nice, to her, but he never said he loved her. 

“I guess I know what makes  you say it so much . It feels freeing. I love you”

He grinned at her again.

“You do?”

He looked thoughtful and begin to play with her fingers. 

“I do love you. Yes I love you, but I guess I begun to realize when you begun to drop hints of a break up last week. It was the reason why I really wanted to meet you so that I would know of it was what you wanted to say. When you said it now, here, I… I don’t think I can explain how I felt. “

He paused, and looked into her eyes. 

“I’m very sorry Malia. You have let me realize that I have taken advantage of you, and I’m sorry I made you feel like you were living in some other person’s life. I did love her, but I have accepted that she is.. she is gone. “

This time Malia was the one that squeezed his hand. His eyes oozed sincerity, and she knew he was very sincere about all he was saying. It made her want to hug him tight. 

“I promise not to make this hard for you. I was very serious when I told you I can’t live without you. I love you, and…I’m sorry for everything. She is gone, and nothing can bring her back. I have accepted that.”

                              **~**

And now, he was gone. 
Tears dropped on the picture and now, Malia did not bother to clean it. The picture represented the new Genesis of their relationship, but it didn’t last a life time. She looked outside the window, at the sky that matched her mood. Everywhere was dark, and bleak, with no hope of sunlight. Just like her heart. 

 

————

Hi everyone, this is my response to the daily prompt, sincere. 

Did you like it? Feel free to comment any thoughts you have concerning the post. 

For those of you who feel melancholy after reading this, you are not alone, as me myself did feel that way. We would just hope Malia found her sunlight.